Macs are increasingly present in the office. This is good news for Apple, which has the challenge of relaunching sales of its computers in 2024. But to this trend is added another: that of adapt Apple’s ecosystem of services to workers.
This sometimes causes certain conflicts. Reddit user Tirzahlalala learned this well and encountered an issue at a company he worked for involving something as simple as an Apple ID password. Fortunately, there is a happy ending thanks to a solution from Apple itself.
From an unexpected dismissal to threats after six months
Tirzahlalala worked for a company until he took paternity leave, but a policy change within the company ultimately led to his dismissal. There was no problem walking, but after six months received multiple messages from his former boss demanding his Apple ID password. And in Tirzahlalala’s own words, one of these messages “may be perceived as a threat.”
This is not a comfortable situation, but the former employee sought an alternative solution. He responded with several pieces of evidence showing that he wasn’t logged into any of the work computers, so he had no reason to send her something as sensitive as his Apple account password.
The boss’s response? “Apple released a new feature and you can’t reset your computer.” But we all know that resetting a Mac is easier than ever with macOS Sonoma.
What to do if someone asks you for your Apple password to sign you out of a work computer
The quick answer to this and any other case is simple: NEVER give out your personal Apple ID password. Never. It’s the worst thing you can do. In any case, you can send it if it is a corporate Apple ID that you have used only on work devices and are no longer using anywhere at the moment, but if you have used your personal account on work computers, this is something you should never put back. on.
If you find yourself in this situation, the solution is simple. Open the Find My app on your iPhone or any of your devices and follow these steps:
- Click on the Mac or device you want to remove from your Apple ID, you will find it in the “Devices” section.
- Click “Remove this device”.
- Click “Continue”:

When you do this, two things will happen: Your Mac will be unlinked from your Apple ID and all its data will be erased. This is precisely what Tirzahlalala did, and it is what allowed his former company to regain the rights to use the computer he was using. At least that’s what we can assume, since from the moment the computer was unplugged, there were no more communications from his former boss.
In Applesfera | Charge your iPhone 15 Pro Max with a low-end USB-C cable, here is the result
In Applesfera | Cameraless iPhones exist, but they’re not made by Apple and cost a fortune



