The new sci-fi survival game Icarus sets its players with hard rules – and unfortunately also lousy performance – pretty much under pressure. In addition to the usual challenges in the survival genre such as hunger, thirst and a hostile environment, you also have to observe time limits in order to survive.
In the first time after the release, a lot of characters apparently died permanently. Therefore, at the request of players, the developers bring back a large number of the lost explorers. We explain to you here why they take this step.
Exceptionally tough rules
It is not exactly easy for you in Icarus: Your missions from the space station to the planet Icarus are always limited to a few hours, days or weeks. If you do not manage to get to your ship before the time runs out, your character and all progress and equipment will be lost – forever.
There is also another high hurdle: Your mission time will run out even if you are not playing. Many players may have failed because of this, after all, something often comes up in real life.
Some players may not have been aware of the difference between “normal death” and permatod: If you die during a mission, you can respawn with your character and simply pick up your loot again. If you miss the ship, that is no longer possible.
Many players apparently did not know these rules in their entirety or for other reasons missed the opportunity to escape from the planet’s surface in time. According to the developers, in some cases bugs or inaccessible servers were responsible for the fact that players had to leave their characters behind.
In fact, Icarus suffers from a multitude of technical problems and should have been better released in Early Access. Our survival expert Christian Just explains why the sci-fi survival game could still become a real hit:
more on the subject
Icarus can be a very fun game
Rescue as a Christmas present
The developers announced on December 21, 2021 Steamthat they have been at one for the past few weeks
Christmas miracle would have worked: All characters left behind on the planet are now back on board your station. Overall were 64,000 lost explorers saved
With the hotfix it was now also possible to display more than three places when selecting characters, so that you can also access all of your characters.
However, there are two things to consider: On the one hand, only characters were revived who did not make it back to the space station in time. Characters deleted by players will not be returned.
In addition, this still applies to new characters Limit of three places. If you want to create a new explorer, but have now occupied three or more places due to the revival, you must first delete enough other characters.
Have you also lost a character and are you happy about his return now? Please tell us about your experiences in the comments!
Leave a Reply