Instagram is one of the most popular networks in the world. It is an ideal platform to communicate, express yourself or share the photos you like the most. You can get lost for hours in the app.
If you want to keep some of these images for yourself, there’s always the option to take a screenshot, but will Instagram alert the creator that you took a screenshot of their post?
Can I take an Instagram screenshot without the person who posted it knowing?
Yes, the Instagram app has no restrictions on taking screenshots. If you have a Software screenshot for video, you can also save stories without the person who posted them knowing that you have viewed them.
The same is true of your own content, of course, so make sure whatever you share is to your liking so that other people own it.
If you want to try the same approach on another very popular photo messaging service, read our guide on how to take a Snapchat screenshot without being seen.
However, there is one notable exception on Instagram, which is when it comes to missing photos or videos. These are particular images or videos sent via direct messages to other Instagram users. The principle is that the person opens them, can see them once, then they are automatically deleted by the application.
Checking Instagram’s help pages reveals the following details about using vanishing photos and videos: “After you send someone an endangered photo or video, you will see the status of the message (eg: Delivered, Open, Played, Screenshot) as part of your live chat “. This indicates that if you take a screenshot, the sender will be alerted.
How can I save Instagram messages without using screenshots?
You don’t need to resort to screenshots if all you want is to be able to view the messages later. Instagram has an option to save posts, which can be organized in to multiple collections to make them easier to find.
To do this, open Instagram and find an image you want to save. Underneath you’ll see a row of icons, but the one you want is the marker on the far right.
Press and you will see the “Save in” menu appear. To create a new collection, press the “+” icon or, if you have already created folders, press one of them and the image will be dropped into that folder.
You will then return to the main source, but this time you will notice that the image in question now has the marker icon filled in to show that it is saved to your collections.
To view the collections, open Instagram, tap your profile icon, and select three lines at the top of the page. From the menu that appears, choose “Saved” and all of your collections or images will appear.
For more ways to get the most out of the social media app, read how to tell if you’ve been blocked on Instagram or how to clear your Instagram search history.